What Ohio Law states on texting and cell phone use while driving
~ excerpts ~
COLUMBUS, Ohio - A statewide texting while driving ban received
its seal of approval from Gov. John Kasich Friday after four years
of deliberation by Ohio lawmakers.
Kasich, whose parents were killed by a drunken driver, said distracted
driving is just as dangerous as being under the influence.
"It's one thing if we endanger our own lives, but it's another when we bring
tragedy to families that in all likelihood could be avoided," Kasich said.
*** The new law, which will take effect in 90 days, (Sept 1, 2012)
will make texting behind the wheel a secondary offense for adults, meaning
a driver can be ticketed only if pulled over for another traffic violation.
*** The law will also ban minors from using any electronic device while driving,
with the exception of a hands-free, voice-activated GPS. The ban makes it
a primary offense for 16- and 17-year-olds, meaning they could be pulled
over for any use of a device while driving.
After the bill takes effect, there will be a grace period to allow law enforcement
time to enforce and alert the public of the law. Kasich said.