General Mills Recalls Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheereos
October 8, 2015 - 5:15 PM
Minneapolis - General Mills is voluntarily
recalling several days of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal
produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July of this year
because of an undeclared allergen – wheat – with potential adverse health
Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios
produced on these dates at the company's Lodi, California facility are being
recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being
inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi
facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat
– in products labeled as gluten-free.
General Mills will recall and
retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and
store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten
intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and
should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.
This voluntary recall includes
four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of
production of Honey Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the
following "BETTER IF USED BY" code dates and the plant code LD which
indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:
Honey Nut Cheerios
Yellow Box Cheerios
Products containing wheat can
cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or
celiac disease. Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort
for individuals with gluten intolerance.
You don't have permmission to comment, or comments have been turned off for this article.