Hi
Hi
Guest
Please welcome Kellykel, our newest member.

78 Guests, 0 Users
May 2017
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031
Holidays
May 29: Memorial Day
Jun 6: D-Day
Jun 14: Flag Day
Jun 14: Flag Day
Jun 18: Father's Day
Jun 20: Summer Solstice
 

Steve.Deserved.Better

April 24, 2017, 06:51:59 PM
If you mean, me myself and I.  Then yes.  Hey Runner!!! How ya doing?!
 

runner76

April 23, 2017, 09:32:38 PM
Steve.Deserved.Better, do you mean 'I am he as you are he as you are me
and we are all together"?




 

Steve.Deserved.Better

April 17, 2017, 09:25:21 AM
You were here and I wasn't and now I'm here and you aren't.  Have a great day!!
 

"V"

April 17, 2017, 07:41:44 AM
?????
 

teecatness

April 08, 2017, 08:18:31 AM
Hyundai and Kia recall 1.2 Million cars.

New Books at the Public Library - 9/18


September 18, 2015 - 11:38 AM



The Public Library of Mount Vernon and Knox County has released its new books list for the week of September 18, 2015.


Make Me: A Jack Reacher Novel

Stephen King calls Jack Reacher the coolest continuing series character—and now hes back in this masterly new thriller from 1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child.   Why is this town called Mothers Rest? Thats all Reacher wants to know. But no one will tell him. Its a tiny place hidden in a thousand square miles of wheat fields, with a railroad stop, and sullen and watchful people, and a worried woman named Michelle Chang, who mistakes him for someone else her missing partner in a private investigation she thinks must have started small and then turned lethal.   Reacher has no particular place to go, and all the time in the world to get there, and theres something about Chang . . . so he teams up with her and starts to ask around. He thinks How bad can this thing be? But before long hes plunged into a desperate race through LA, Chicago, Phoenix, and San Francisco, and through the hidden parts of the internet, up against thugs and assassins every step of the way—right back to where he started, in Mothers Rest, where he must confront the worst nightmare he could imagine.


Purity: A Novel

A magnum opus for our morally complex times from the author of FreedomYoung Pip Tyler doesnt know who she is. She knows that her real name is Purity, that shes saddled with 130,000 in student debt, that shes squatting with anarchists in Oakland, and that her relationship with her mother--her only family--is hazardous. But she doesnt have a clue who her father is, why her mother chose to live as a recluse with an invented name, or how shell ever have a normal life. Enter the Germans. A glancing encounter with a German peace activist leads Pip to an internship in South America with The Sunlight Project, an organization that traffics in all the secrets of the world--including, Pip hopes, the secret of her origins. TSP is the brainchild of Andreas Wolf, a charismatic provocateur who rose to fame in the chaos following the fall of the Berlin Wall.


Devoted in Death

Eve Dallas tracks a couple whose passion is fueled by cold brutality in the newest crime thriller from the 1 New York Timesbestselling author of Obsession in Death and Festive in Death. When Lieutenant Eve Dallas examines a body in a downtown Manhattan alleyway, the victims injuries are so extensive that she almost misses the clue. Carved into the skin is the shape of a heart—and initials inside reading E and D . . .Ella-Loo and her boyfriend, Darryl, had been separated while Darryl was a guest of the state of Oklahoma, and now that his sentence has been served they dont ever intend to part again. Ella-Loos got dreams. And Darryl believes there are better ways to achieve your dreams than working for them. So they hit the road, and when their car breaks down in Arkansas, they make plans to take someone elses.


The End Game

From 1 New York Timesbestselling author Catherine Coulter, the explosive new addition to the remarkable thriller series featuring Nicholas Drummond and Mike Caine. FBI agent Nicholas Drummond and his partner, Mike Caine, are deep into an investigation of COE—Celebrants of the Earth—a violent group known for widespread bombings of power grids and oil refineries across the country. While investigating a tip from a civilian whos overheard about a possible bombing plot, the Bayway Refinery in New Jersey explodes. Nicholas and Mike race to the scene and barely escape being killed by a secondary device. Returning to the civilians home to continue their interrogation, they discover the tipster—and the FBI team left to guard him—dead. While Nicholas calls in the assassinations, COE strikes again, this time launching a cyber-attack on several major oil companies and draining their financial and intellectual assets.


Robert B. Parker's the Devil Wins

A Noreaster blows into Paradise and churns up the past—in the stunning new addition to Robert B. Parkers New York Timesbestselling series featuring Police Chief Jesse Stone. In the wake of a huge storm, three bodies are discovered in the rubble of an abandoned factory building in an industrial part of Paradise known as The Swap. One body, a mans, wrapped in a blue tarp, is only hours old. But found within feet of that body are the skeletal remains of two teenage girls who had gone missing during a Fourth of July celebration twenty-five years earlier. Not only does that crime predate Jesse Stones arrival in Paradise, but the dead girls were close friends of Jesses right hand, Officer Molly Crane. And things become even more complicated when one of the dead girls mothers returns to Paradise to bury her daughter and is promptly murdered.


Secondhand Souls: A Novel

In San Francisco, the souls of the dead are mysteriously disappearing—and you know that cant be good—in New York Times bestselling author Christopher Moores delightfully funny sequel to A Dirty Job.Something really strange is happening in the City by the Bay. People are dying, but their souls are not being collected. Someone—or something—is stealing them and no one knows where they are going, or why, but it has something to do with that big orange bridge. Death Merchant Charlie Asher is just as flummoxed as everyone else. Hes trapped in the body of a fourteen-inch-tall meat puppet waiting for his Buddhist nun girlfriend, Audrey, to find him a suitable new body to play host.To get to the bottom of this abomination, a motley crew of heroes will band together the seven-foot-tall death merchant Minty Fresh retired policeman turned bookseller Alphonse Rivera the Emperor of San Francisco and his dogs, Bummer and Lazarus and Lily, the former Goth girl.


A Window Opens: A Novel

Egans delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all. —People People, Summers Best BooksEntertainment Weekly, 8 Big Fat Beach ReadsWomans Day, Great Summer ReadsPublishers Weekly, Best Summer BooksGood Housekeeping, Your Ultimate Summer Reading ListMinneapolis Star Tribune, 10 Novels Not to MissCoastal Living, Great Summer Reads Time Out New York, Summer Reading ListGoop Newsletter, Best Summer 15 Reading Fans of I Dont Know How She Does It and Whered You Go, Bernadette will cheer at this fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all People about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in or opt out age.


Fear of Dying: A Novel

Four decades ago, Erica Jong revolutionized the way we look at love, marriage and sex. Her world-wide bestseller, FEAR OF FLYING opened the doors for writers from Jennifer Weiner to Lena Dunham. Now she does it again by giving us powerful, new perspective on the next phase of womens lives. Full of the sly humor, deep wisdom and poignancy we know from her poetry, fiction and essays, she delivers the novel women everywhere have been waiting for...FEAR OF DYING As the afternoon of life looms over Vanessa Wonderman, she watches her parents age, attends doctor appointments with her pregnant daughter, and sits by the hospital bed of her husband, Asher, fifteen years her senior. With her best years as an actress behind her, shes discovering that beginnings are easy, but endings can be hard.


Above the Waterfall: A Novel

In this poetic and haunting tale set in contemporary Appalachia, New York Times bestselling author Ron Rash illuminates lives shaped by violence and a powerful connection to the land.Les, a long-time sheriff just three-weeks from retirement, contends with the ravages of crystal meth and his own duplicity in his small Appalachian town.Becky, a park ranger with a harrowing past, finds solace amid the lyrical beauty of this patch of North Carolina.Enduring the mistakes and tragedies that have indelibly marked them, they are drawn together by a reverence for the natural world. When an irascible elderly local is accused of poisoning a trout stream, Les and Becky are plunged into deep and dangerous waters, forced to navigate currents of disillusionment and betrayal that will force them to question themselves and test their tentative bond—and threaten to carry them over the edge.
Share on Facebook! Share on Twitter! g+ Reddit Digg this story! Del.icio.us StumbleUpon

Comments *

You don't have permmission to comment, or comments have been turned off for this article.